budgetThe NH House budget hearings have started. Our biennial state budget determines where and how monies will be allocated. The budget determines how much the disability community will receive for services. The Governor has submitted his budget. Now the House puts together its version of the budget which, when passed by its members, will go to the NH Senate for its approval later this spring.

March 11, 5 p.m. in Milford
Milford Boys and Girls Club, 56 Mt. Vernon St. (map)

March 11, 5 p.m. in Laconia
Lakes Region Community College, 379 Belmont Rd., Rt 106 (map)

March 18, 1 p.m. in Concord
Representatives' Hall, State House, 107 N. Main St. (map)

Talking Points and Tips for Budget Hearing

Tips on Giving Budget Testimony or Writing Letters

Who is Your NH Representative?

This is the time for your legislators to hear from YOU. They need to hear your voice, receive your letters and to know that there are real people who depend on the decisions they make which affect your lives. Whether you give testimony or simply show up, your presence makes a big difference.

Please help support these bills. The more who can contact their legislators, the more likely they will be to pass legislation affecting you.

Marylouise Alther, MDS Legislative Liaison is attending the Concord hearing on March 18 and is happy to offer a ride to three individuals.

Call Marylouise at 603-313-8693 for more information on how you can help.

ConflictofInterestFebDHHS's Division of Long Term Supports & Services and the Bureau of Developmental Services have put together an informative Frequently Asked Questions document to inform individuals and families about a recent ruling that states that Area Agencies cannot provide both direct service and case management to the same individuals.

Please click here to view this FAQ from DHHS.

Family Support Conference 2019The 2019 Family Support Conference will take place April 26-28, 2019 at the Omni Mount Washington Resort in Bretton Woods New Hampshire. It is an opportunity to spend a weekend with other families in NH, attend valuable workshops that provide education on topics related to community supports, educational needs, etc., and, for some, a moment of respite.

Registration for the conference is fully online this year at http://www.fscnh.com/index.html. At this Conference website you can find information on hotels, workshops and other details. Conference registration deadline is March 31. Deadline for Omni Resort reservations is March 25.

Some scholarship assistance is available. Click here for to download a Scholarship Request Form. Contact Lynn Yeiter or Lurleen Morin at 352-1304 for more information and support to attend this year's Conference.

Conference Website

Conference Workshops (Adults, Young Adults, Children)

Conference Registration Page

FSC Scholarship Request Form

Applications for the Class of 2019-20 are being accepted now through March 8, 2019. Project SEARCH is a comprehensive approach to employment training and career advancement for individuals with developmental disabilities. The program provides real world skills training through a series of internships, all designed to teach marketable skills that will transfer to a variety of employment settings.

In the Monadnock region, the program takes place at Cheshire Medical Center/Dartmouth Hitchcock-Keene (CMC/DH-K). CMC/DH-K offers a wide variety of opportunities for employment training, from clinical to stocking to housekeeping to office tasks. The program runs Monday through Friday, from 8:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.; it follows the Keene School District calendar and, including vacations, lasts 42 weeks.

Applications for the next session (September 2019 - June 2020) are due by March 8, 2019. Applicants must be receiving Service Coordination from Monadnock Developmental Services, and participants are chosen upon review of completed application packet, reference checks and and interview with the Selection Committee.

     Click here for answers to Frequently Asked Questions about Project SEARCH.

     Click here for an overview of Project SEARCH.

     Click here for a 2019-2020 Project SEARCH Application form.

     Click here for a Project SEARCH Reference form.

Read more about Project SEARCH.