mikeforrest mds webAt its annual meeting in late November, Monadnock Developmental Services’ Board of Directors elected a new Executive Committee to take on leadership in 2013. Michael Forrest of Keene has been elected President of the Board. Mr. Forrest succeeds James Craiglow who will now serve as Immediate Past President. Donald Hayes will serve as Vice-President; Shelley Viles will act as Treasurer, and Terry Manahan of Harrisville will serve as Board Secretary.

At the meeting, James Schofield, Manfredo Torelli and Ms. Manahan were re-elected for three-year terms. Other MDS Board members who will continue in 2013 are Elizabeth Kenney, Beth Provost, Sand Seligman, and Adele Remillard who serves as Family Council liaison.

The Board of Directors directs MDS’s general management as the governing body of this $28 million area agency that provides services for individuals with developmental and related disabilities in the 34 towns of the Monadnock region. The Board (whose size can range from 9-25 members) is required to include at least a third of its membership as people with developmental disabilities or as parents/siblings/guardians of those with developmental disabilities. Each Board member must reside in one of those 34 towns.

The work of the Board is done by seven Committees, made up of Board Members, staff and community representatives. These committees are: Executive, Fiscal, Human Rights, Advocacy, Nominating, Personnel, Development.